The first school was founded in 1844 by Queen Adelaide and by 1849 there were 70 pupils and two teachers. The old school building, shown below, was used for around 45 years until 1895:
In September 1895 the school moved to its present site. This larger building was donated by the second Earl of Dudley.
This picture shows the new (current) school circa 1900:
and here is another picture just a few years later, circa 1905 – 1910:
In 1906 the school became Great Witley Church of England School. There were now over a hundred pupils, with a head teacher, two assistants and two pupil teachers.
This picture shows the pupils and teachers in 1911:
In 1946 Little Witley School was closed and pupils transferred to Great Witley and in 1948 the school became a junior school. A new infant classroom was added in 1955.
David Williams, an ex pupil, has recorded his memories of the school in the 1960’s. He can be seen in this photo of the pupils & teachers in the summer of 1960. David is sitting at the far left of the front row, but he doesn’t seem to be enjoying the experience! The teachers are: on the left Mrs Evans (middle class), centre Mr Wyton (headmaster) and on the right Mrs Barbaee (junior class).
In 1976 three further classrooms were added. Then, with the closure of Shelsley and Shrawley schools in 1977, Great Witley School increased to 136 on roll with a head and five teachers. In May 1985 the school had 122 children, a head and four teachers.
This photo was taken in 1975, but it is no longer possible to see this view of the school as the Village Hall now stands in the place from where the photograph was taken.
The school continues to prosper, and current info can be found at the school website.